Victoria Oladipo
3 min readOct 24, 2021

Lights will guide you….

When I heard Coldplay’s Fix you, I thought it was a song to be sung when during a burial, mostly because of how solemn the song is.

I’ve imagined the phrase 'lights will guide you home' because of how dark the path is. It’s easy to reaffirm that you carry light without leaving a space for the bleak part.

It’s easy to not acknowledge the darkness because in my journey of life, I’ve come to recognise that acknowledging things is the first way to finding a solution to it.

So rather than declare, 'I’m not anxious’, I agree that I am anxious and start finding my way around it. There’s no need to lie to myself.

You might not know that you need light if you don’t see how dark the path is. If you don’t agree that you’re having a rollercoaster and you are walking through a tunnel, you might not see the need for light.

When you try your best, but you don’t succeed
When you get what you want, but not what you need
When you feel so tired, but you can’t sleep
Stuck in reverse
And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace
When you love someone, but it goes to waste
Could it be worse?

The first stanza of this song brings me to tears on my dark days. Most of our lives are lived as facades, also because we hide our pains behind glam and social media charades. But in those dark times, where you’ve acknowledged your pain in your corner, lights be your guide.

There’s light at the end of the tunnel is a great idiomatic expression only when the tunnel has a visible end. But I’d love for lights to guide me through the tunnel, I don’t want to get to the end of the tunnel before I find light. Some tunnels are long and the farther you go, the darker it becomes. How do you expect of me to walk through darkness without aid? It’s why I want to deeply resonate with light guiding me.

If lights guides us, it would be easier to go through the tunnel even if we go through it all our lives. It’s easier to walk through the valley of the shadow of death, like the psalmist said, because there was a certainty that the Almighty was with him — For thou art with me.

Darkness is dreading. Why weeping endures for the night is because darkness gives no place for joy.

For this reason, I remember that lights are important to living especially when you’re overwhelmed with darkness almost everytime.

Lights will guide you. To yourself, if you feel your living is dark enough. If you believe, finding you means finding home. Lights will guide you, to your people if community is where you will find home. Lights will guide you, to your destination. If your paths are dark and your joy is dependent on how easy you want the journey to be.